This text is republished right here with permission from The Associated Press. This content material is shared right here as a result of the subject might curiosity Snopes readers; it doesn’t, nonetheless, characterize the work of Snopes fact-checkers or editors.
BERLIN (AP) — Coming quickly to a particular retailer close to you: a vegan model of the long-lasting KitKat sweet bar.
Switzerland’s Nestle didn’t spell out in its announcement on Monday the precise components for the brand new deal with to be often called the KitKat V. But it surely stated it could “quickly have a scrumptious plant-based possibility that delivers the proper steadiness between crispy wafer and clean chocolate that individuals know and love.”
The corporate stated it already has launched plant-based alternate options to dairy produced from rice, oat, soy, coconut, pea and almonds which are present in its non-dairy ice cream, espresso creamers and different merchandise.
The KitKat V, which it stated can be launched later this 12 months in “a number of nations throughout the globe,” is licensed vegan and makes use of 100% sustainable cocoa, the corporate stated.
Because the product is examined it is going to solely be obtainable within the firm’s boutique KitKat Chocolatory retailers or on-line, and thru choose retailers.
It is going to be obtainable in Britain, the place the KitKat was initially developed in York — and the place the analysis on the vegan model was finished — however not within the U.S. the place the KitKat is produced beneath a licensing settlement with Hershey’s, the corporate stated.
Nestle stated it isn’t releasing data on different nations collaborating within the preliminary roll-out in the mean time.